The Nebraska Corn Board recognized three agricultural leaders at the annual awards dinner

The Nebraska Corn Board recognized three agricultural leaders at the annual awards dinner

HASTINGS, Neb. (KSNB) – Three people were honored at the 2022 Nebraska Corn Board Awards Dinner on March 17 in Lincoln. The annual awards event highlights outstanding contributions to the state’s corn industry. Each of the three recipients has a long history of service to Nebraska agriculture.

The Nebraska Corn Board honored three people at its annual awards dinner on March 17. From left to right: Lynn Chrisp (Ag Achievement Award), David Buchholz (NCB Vision Award) and Jon Holzfaster (NCB Vision Award).(Nebraska Corn Council)

Two recipients received the first NCB Vision award. The purpose of this recognition is to honor individuals, industry leaders, companies or organizations who have gone above and beyond to help NCB achieve its vision, which is to improve demand, add value and ensure sustainability.

Jon Hozfaster was the first recipient of the NCB Vision Award. A third-generation farmer from Paxton, Hozfaster grows corn, popcorn, alfalfa, wheat, soybeans, edible beans and operates a backyard feed yard. He served as NCB’s District 8 Director from 2003-2018. He also served on the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) Corn Board of Directors for six years and provided valuable service to the action team. Ethanol. Through this role, he was instrumental in the NCGA’s partnership with Growth Energy to establish E15 as the official racing fuel for NASCAR.

Holzfaster has made significant contributions to agriculture locally, nationally and internationally. Along with his family, Holzfaster helped position western Nebraska as an innovative and progressive region, not only for agriculture and ranching, but also for creating new value-added agricultural businesses. He used his commitment to creating new demand for corn and his knowledge of economic development to help establish a farmers’ cooperative to build an ethanol plant.

“Jon has made significant contributions to the corn and ethanol industries locally and nationally,” said Andy Groskopf, NCB Secretary and Treasurer and Scottsbluff farmer. “Its impact is also lasting. He is still well known and respected at national meetings, even though he no longer sits on the NCB or NCGA Boards of Directors.

Paxton farmer Jon Holzfaster accepts the Nebraska Corn Board Vision Award from Andy...
Paxton farmer Jon Holzfaster accepts the Nebraska Corn Board Vision Award from Andy Groskopf, District 8 Director on the board.(Nebraska Corn Council)

David Buchholz was the second recipient of NCB’s Vision Award. Buchholz is a longtime friend and ally of Nebraska’s agricultural industry. His advertising agency, David & Associates, was the first advertising agency NCB partnered with over 30 years ago. Through his visionary thinking and strategic marketing acumen, millions of people around the world have been exposed to positive messages about maize and agriculture.

Buchholz has assisted NCB with countless advertising campaigns and initiatives over the years. Some highlights:

  • Strategic partnerships with influencers, such as Olympic bobsledder Curt Tomasevicz
  • Helped refine the CornsTalk series into consumer-focused, easy-to-understand topical publications.
  • Helped bring ethanol to the national stage through the Big Ten Network
  • His creative efforts have contributed to the success of promotional events, such as Husker Harvest Days, Pump Promotions, FFA Conventions and other trade shows.

“Dave was more than a contractor working for us, but more of a trusted advisor or extension of our staff,” said Brandon Hunnicutt, NCB vice president and Giltner farmer. “He had many agricultural clients including the NCGA, US Grains Council, Nebraska Extension and others. It helped us because Dave really understood farming and helped us do our best.

Brandon Hunnicutt, District 3 Director of the Nebraska Corn Board, presents the Vision Award to...
Brandon Hunnicutt, Nebraska Corn Board District 3 Director, presents the Vision Award to David Buchholz, owner and founder of David & Associates.(Nebraska Corn Council)

The final recognition of the evening was the Ag Achievement Award. This honor, first presented in 1991, was designed to recognize outstanding and selfless efforts to advance the state’s corn industry. This year’s Ag Achievement Award went to Lynn Chrisp, a farmer from Hastings. In total, Chrisp has spent more than 30 years serving corn farmers through state and national leadership roles.

Nationally, he most recently served as President and President of the NCGA in 2018 and 2019 respectively. He has been active on many NCGA action teams over the years and has worked on several issues impacting corn growers such as global agricultural trade, production, stewardship, biotechnology , the Farm Bill and ethanol. His most recent work has focused on the role of ethanol as a low-carbon, high-octane fuel, in which a bill was introduced in the US House of Representatives. United.

At the local level, Chrisp became a member of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association (NeCGA) in 1988. He previously served as chairman of the NeCGA’s government relations committee with oversight of state and national issues. He was also involved in the planning and implementation of NeCGA’s leadership program in Washington, D.C. Chrisp was instrumental in leveraging the strengths of NCB and NeCGA to implement a more unified brand under Nebraska Horn.

“As long as I can remember, Lynn has been a constant in the Nebraska corn industry,” said Jay Reiners, NCB president and Juniata farmer. “He was one of the main reasons I got involved in the Nebraska corn industry. With his encouragement and mentorship, I was able to take the next step and help advocate for farmers in our state. I have long admired Lynn’s leadership and continue to do so.

Jay Reiners, CEO of the Nebraska Corn Board, presents the Ag Achievement Award to...
Jay Reiners, CEO of the Nebraska Corn Board, presents the Ag Achievement Award to Hastings farmer Lynn Chrisp.(Nebraska Corn Council)

Each winner was identified and selected by NCB.

Copyright 2022 CSN-B. All rights reserved.